9 Nov 2012

Uttrakhand celebrated its 12th foundation day

Dehradun:(Page3 News Network) Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna, on the occasion of 12th State Foundation Day, released a book "Uttarakhand Utkrishthata Ke Path Par" published by Information and Public Relations Department on Friday in a function held at Gorkha Military Inter College. He also felicitated eight elderly people from four villages adjacent to Rampur Tiraha Mujaffarnagar for their support to the statehood agitationists on 02 October, 1994 by presenting shawls to them.
 Chief Minister Bahuguna also made several announcements regarding welfare of statehood agitationists. He said that the pension for them would be increased to Rs. 5,000 per month from existing Rs. 3,000. All those missing during the statehood movement would also be provided facilities given to the statehood agitationists and their families would be accorded due respect.
 Three best writings on statehood movement would be selected for historical documentation of the movement and first, second and third would be awarded cash prizes of Rs 5 lakh, Rs. 3 lakh and Rs. 2 lakh respectively. Similarly to promote local dialects and languages, three best literary works would be awarded cash prize of Rs. 3 lakh, Rs. 2 lakh and Rs. 1 lakh respectively. Three individuals or institutions would also be awarded cash prize of Rs. 3 lakh, Rs. 2 lakh and Rs. 1 lakhs respectively for preserving and promoting state's cultural heritage, music and musical instruments. The chronicle of statehood movements would be included in school syllabus. The old prison complex in Pauri District would be dedicated to statehood agitationists and developed as state archives and museum. The archive would house all the documents, manuscripts, electronic and digital material and photographs related to the movement.
 Chief Minister Bahuguna said that the State Government was committed to develop the state according to the dreams and aspiration of statehood agitationists. He said that the State Government had several achievements to its credit in a short period of eight months. He said that in last twelve years the State had crossed many milestones yet a lot was needed to be done.
 Mr. Bahuguna said that Tourism and Power were the main sources of revenue for the State and their proper utilization would generate job opportunities for the local youths. Several places had been identified to develop as new tourism hub and construction of 22 helipads were on the pipeline. The tourism activities would be encouraged and guest houses would be built around these places.
 Mr. Bahuguna said that an international standard sports stadium would be constructed at Dehradun with the help of ONGC. He said that the foundation stone of the same would be laid at Maharana Pratap Sports College, Raipur, on 15 November, 2012. He said that the State Government was committed to develop both hill and plain regions at par. The government was also taking effective measures in water, forest, herbal, horticulture and floriculture sectors. He said that Uttarakhand was a peaceful state with unpolluted environment and people. Along with Char Dham, Piran Kaliyar and Hemkund Sahib gave a message of unity and benevolence. "We have one identity and that is we are all Uttarakhandis", he asserted.  Mr. Bahuguna said that Gairsen was the emotional chord of common people. He said that there would be no dearth of fund for development works. He said that people should have active contribution in the development of the State. He exhorted the media and administration to play a fair and constructive role. He specially urged the media to work as vigilant watchdog, highlight the good works of the government and point out the shortcomings.
Mr. Bahuguna stating that Uttarakhand could never repay the debt of people of Rampur Tiraha Muzafffarnagar for their support during the statehood movement still, in a gesture of gratitude the State Government has announced to grant Rs. 10 lakh each to establish community centres in four villages of the vicinity. The felicitated persons included Vimla Devi, Santosh Sharma, Shiv Kumar, Siyaram Sharma, Tara Singh, Kaushal Devi, Saleem Ahmed and Mohammed Aqil.
 Earlier the Chief Minister also paid floral tribute to statehood martyrs at Shaheed Smarak located at Collectorate.

You May Also Like


Popular Posts