20 Feb 2014

Indian Power Stations 2014’ inaugurated in New Delhi today

Indian Power Stations 2014
Indian Power Stations 2014, the Conference on Power Plants was inaugurated in New Delhi today by Shri P.K. Sinha, Secretary, Union Ministry of Power. The theme of the conference is ‘Powering Tomorrow Strategize Today’.

 The Conference is organized by NTPC as an annual event to commemorate the start of power generation from the first 200 MW unit from NTPC-Singrauli in 1982. 

Speaking on the occasion, Shri Sinha expressed his satisfaction on the growth of Power sector in the current year and stressed on the use of latest technologies and new initiatives for improving the performance of the sector. 

The Secretary added that the Indian Power Sector is on the threshold of adding large capacity which shall reduce the demands/supply considerably. 

In her address Smt. Neerja Mathur, Chairperson CEA complemented NTPC for organizing this conference for knowledge and experience sharing. She stressed on the need for efficiency, sustainability and energy conservation in the power sector. 

Speaking on the occasion Dr. Arup Roy Choudhury, CMD, said that NTPC was formed to accelerate power generation in the country and will continue to augument Government of India`s plan through capacity addition and creating benchmarks in generation.

 He spoke of tremendous scope for growth of power sector in view of the low per capita consumption of electricity in the country compared to the world average. 

Business Excellence Awards for Best Performance were presented on the occasion to NTPC- Ramagundam and runner up shield to NTPC-Unchahar by Secretary, Ministry of Power and Chairperson, CEA. Shri Sinha also released the Best Practices Manual for Super Critical units brought out by NTPC and US AID on the occasion along with two compendiums on technical papers of power plant operations. 

NTPC the largest power utility in the country has been playing a major role in meeting the power needs of the country and contributing to its economic and social development. 

With an installed capacity of 42464 MW through 17 coal based, 7 gas based, 3 solar renewable and 7 Joint Venture power stations, NTPC contributes 28 percent of electricity in the country, with about 19 percent of India`s installed capacity. 

You May Also Like


Popular Posts